The buzz from finding the missing word

9 Feb

This has been bugging me for weeks. Every day I would be thinking to myself “I know the answer, it’s just hidden out of sight in a dark corner of my mind. I’ll stop thinking about it and it will come to me” and all those sorts of thoughts like we have when we’re trying to kid ourselves we’re not thinking about it. Of course we are!

In my case I needed a name. Not just any name but a name for the second son in the book I’m writing. I say book, it’s a collection of random typed thoughts on a secret log-in on the family computer. I never get enough time to set aside a whole day and keep going at it. But the ideas have been whirring in my head for about a year now, I know the main characters so well I sometimes worry that I am slipping into another life and if I don’t focus on what’s in front of me I might disappear into my own fantasy world (now there’s an idea) 

This second son is barely a minor character, he’s more of a blip. So why was the lack of a name bugging me so much? Honestly, I have no idea. But as I turned on the bedside lamp this morning it was a sudden “bingo!” moment and the name just came to me. And it was as though it had indeed just been lurking in the recesses of my brain waiting for the right time to introduce itself. It’s perfect. And it set the tone for my morning.

He might never be more than a blip in the final story, if it ever gets written, but he will be – to me at least – a happy and important blip because he was so very much wanted. I might just be going crazy but it feels good today.

Leave a Reply

Tal Bauer Writes

Random musings from a Highland mother

Love Bytes

LGBTQ Book Reviews

UK GLBTQ Fiction Meet

Read it, Write it, Love it

girlwithautismblog's Blog

The greatest WordPress.com site in all the land!

Brad Vance Author

bradvanceauthor@gmail.com / www.facebook.com/BradVance.10

Pyjamas and Prosecco

Mum, Wife, Master Juggler..

It Must Be Mum

A Site for Resources and Reflections That May Help Those Navigating Aspects of the World of 'Special Education Needs'

Lane Hayes

Leaning Into a Wish

Glass Walls

My FTM Journey

Shoestring Cottage - Frugal Living

shoestringjane@outlook.com. Find me on Twitter and Instagram: @shoestringjane

THE LIFE OF TONT

The random musings of a soldier, father, and husband

Mary's Ménages Reviews & Promos

♂♀♂ Another way to Review Erotic Ménage Romances...

The New Normal

An extreme autism experience

Aspects of Aspergers

perspectives from the spectrum

The House of Elyot

Just another WordPress.com site

'Nathan Burgoine

mostly short queer fiction from a tall queer guy

Author Susan Mac Nicol

Adult content warning - Over 18's only please.

