T.G.I.F

8 Mar

Good grief what a day!

Firstly I couldn’t rouse B or M for love nor money this morning, even though Friday is traditionally chocolate spread on toast for breakfast instead of healthy stuff.

Then after the mad dash to school I seemed to waste my 3 child-free hours in pointless housework (not pointless obviously but I’m sure I could have used my time better).

I went to collect M at 12 and that was fine. Until I realised that I had somehow locked myself out of the house. I rang hubby to check he at least had his keys (he did.) M was a bit anxious about her stomach (always hungry this kid) and as for some wonderful reason I had my wallet in my coat pocket – it lives in my handbag so this was a happy chance – I took her round the corner to the village cafe. By good luck the soup was lentil, so she had a half portion of that and a small cheese sandwich. Always a worry when feeding my ASD children out is whether they will eat as sometimes even a meal that sounds the same will look or smell too unfamiliar. I remembered that my antibiotics were indoors and I was due to take the lunch-time dose. Not gonna happen.

I texted dd1 to ask if she had her key with her and she didn’t. Why do I provide keys for the girls if they don’t take them with them? Surely this defeats the object. Dd2’s phone is on the blink so I rang the secondary school who were less than helpful and suggested all I could do was to drive around the town to see if I could find her. Yeah, thanks for that.

As it happens, even if I had been inclined to drive nearly 10 miles to search for a proverbial needle in a haystack I had agreed to meet M’s learning support assistant at 1.15 so we could work through M’s visual timetable together after the latest review meeting when we got some helpful tips. Another big change for M, going into school after lunch, and I wasn’t sure how she’d cope but in my worry about the keys I’d forgotten to ask anyone to take her for me and therefore left it too late.

She really enjoyed the afternoon though – Fridays have “golden time” which is more-or-less free activities so she played in the library area with 2 of her younger classmates, coming over to me every so often to “check in,” We stayed warm (massive bonus) and I was very happy with the way the visuals will now be done, slightly more streamlined and easier to read.

I took a chance and drove straight to the secondary – my reasoning being if dd2 had the key I could come home with it, sorted, and if not I would already be part way to the city to pick up hubby’s set. Any other night we would have descended on friends but a Friday means ds1 comes home from his boarding school, and if I don’t have his dinner cooked and keeping warm he won’t be able to get to Scouts on time (approx 1 minute turnaround time) so it was important to sort this. Dd2 had not long come in from a mini field trip and was surprised and rather amused to be called out of her maths lesson, but bless her she handed over her keys.

M by this point had run out of coping strategies and practically lost the plot to discover that I hadn’t bought any pizzas for tea.”But it’s Friday” she wailed over and over.”So if I buy you a pizza will you promise me you’ll eat it?” I asked. Friday has been pizza night for 2 years now as it’s the easiest option for ds1 to eat out of a tupperware box whilst being driven to Scouts, and so everyone has been used to it, M included, but in the last few weeks she’s been protesting she hates pizza.

Anyway, she insisted loudly that she would “only eat pizza” so another change, we drove to Asda, where I ran round grabbing a few items I knew we were short of. Got back in the car and then we had another sobbing fit “I don’t want to go home.” But this time I ignored her and drove,

Since we have been in, she has curled up on the sofa with the dvd of The Incredibles and I have been at peace. I took my late antibiotic, made a refreshing cuppa and sat down to blog it all out of my system. Frankly if you read this far thank you, but I am not bothered if anyone reads this post – it just needed to come out.

I have just heard from hubby that he has collected ds1 from his train and they are heading homewards. Now as long as we don’t get a power cut we should be fine from now on!

Leave a Reply

Pyjamas and Prosecco

Mum, Wife, Master Juggler..

It Must Be Mum

A Site for Resources and Reflections That May Help Those Navigating Aspects of the World of 'Special Education Needs'

Lane Hayes

A Kind of Home

Glass Walls

My FTM Journey

Shoestring Cottage - Frugal Living

shoestringjane@outlook.com. Find me on Twitter and Instagram: @shoestringjane

THE LIFE OF TONT

The random musings of a soldier, father, and husband

Mary's Ménages Reviews & Promos

♂♀♂ Another way to Review Erotic Ménage Romances...

The New Normal

An extreme autism experience

Aspects of Aspergers

perspectives from the spectrum

The House of Elyot

Just another WordPress.com site

'Nathan Burgoine

mostly short queer fiction from a tall queer guy

Author Susan Mac Nicol

Adult content warning - Over 18's only please.

Queen of my Castle

A mother's tales of toddlers, tantrums and triumphs

Gay Book Reviews - M/M Book Reviews

Reviews of M/M Themed Books

AutiWomanDifferentBox

This is about not thinking inside the box but thinking in a completely different box

Squeeze the Space Man's Taco

A journey into Cade's world

