Looking forward

6 Apr

It has been a shocker of a week that’s for sure. DD2 and I spent the entire week with hardly any sleep as we worked round the clock to do everything we could to make our wee guinea pig better. I had more sleep with a newborn baby! Sadly our efforts were in vain and poor Jasper lost his fight yesterday afternoon. We were ridiculously emotional, and the lack of sleep would have contributed to that.

Image

We made a final resting place in the garden and buried him with some ceremony. Then I took the little ones to the beach to find some beautiful shells to decorate his grave with – to be honest they needed some fresh air and so did I. Here are a few photos from the beach walk.

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

As you can see we are very lucky to live almost on the beach. We came home loaded with pretty things and the rest of the afternoon was spent quietly washing and sorting them.

Shortly after hubby got home from work he had a phone call from his father. More bad news, this time really devastating. Hubby’s uncle had died very unexpectedly. The kids are utterly distraught, they adored him, and he was one of a kind. Educated, wise, quiet, gentle and kind with such love for our children (he had none of his own). Hubby couldn’t even show any emotion, I think he just couldn’t take it in.

The title of this post – looking forward – might seem a bit strange in the circumstances, but I thought it was apt. Death comes to us all, whether guinea pig or human, and hard as it is, we have no option but to pick ourselves up and deal with the business of living. Otherwise what is the point? If we are lucky we will get approximately 80 years at best to take advantage of our beautiful planet and its inhabitants, so that’s why I have posted photos of 2 of my gorgeous offspring out in the sunshine enjoying nature. They are doing what the rest of should be doing, grabbing the moment with both hands. I haven’t shielded either of them (in fact any of my children) from death, yet at the ages of 6 and 7 they are coping better than us older ones. Of course, you could argue that they don’t really “get it” but I think they do – they just choose to move on and live in the moment. I expect both of them to talk about Jasper the guinea pig, and their Uncle Stanley, and indeed their Granda who died so recently, and sometimes there might be tears, but they are not hiding away and stopping their lives.

Today is my wedding anniversary and hubby and I had decided we would go out for a meal tonight. The teen girls had kindly offered to mind their siblings. Yesterday evening I was quite sure I wouldn’t want to go as it would seem wrong after learning about Stanley’s death. This morning I realised I had to take note of my smallest children and look forward. I can and will remember Stanley for ever, I don’t need to sit on my sofa to do that, so I will go out with my hubby and raise a glass to everyone tonight.

And I will look forward.

2 Responses to “Looking forward”

  1. AutismMumma April 6, 2013 at 4:57 pm #

    Lovely blog K, I’m so sorry about your husband’s uncle and Jasper. The fresh air and the beach must have helped. Sending hugs xx

    • ouremuk66 April 7, 2013 at 2:59 pm #

      Thank you J, hugs warmly appreciated. I usually find getting back to nature helps 🙂

Leave a Reply

Tal Bauer Writes

Random musings from a Highland mother

Love Bytes

LGBTQ Book Reviews

UK GLBTQ Fiction Meet

Read it, Write it, Love it

girlwithautismblog's Blog

The greatest WordPress.com site in all the land!

Brad Vance Author

bradvanceauthor@gmail.com / www.facebook.com/BradVance.10

Pyjamas and Prosecco

Mum, Wife, Master Juggler..

It Must Be Mum

A Site for Resources and Reflections That May Help Those Navigating Aspects of the World of 'Special Education Needs'

Lane Hayes

Leaning Into Touch

Glass Walls

My FTM Journey

Shoestring Cottage - Frugal Living

shoestringjane@outlook.com. Find me on Twitter and Instagram: @shoestringjane

THE LIFE OF TONT

The random musings of a soldier, father, and husband

Mary's Ménages Reviews & Promos

♂♀♂ Another way to Review Erotic Ménage Romances...

The New Normal

An extreme autism experience

Aspects of Aspergers

perspectives from the spectrum

The House of Elyot

Just another WordPress.com site

'Nathan Burgoine

mostly short queer fiction from a tall queer guy

Author Susan Mac Nicol

Adult content warning - Over 18's only please.

