Cake and storms

16 Apr

Today has been all about B, my as-of-today eight year old. How I wish it was always so easy to get him out of bed, two words, “happy birthday” and he was upright in seconds and beaming. And as I was a real meanie and only allowed him to open one present before he had eaten, washed and dressed, this was also completed in record time. Obviously I then let him open the rest. He was absolutely delighted with all his gifts and cards.

As B’s beloved older brother goes to a weekly boarding school we had decided to keep the main celebrations to next Saturday but I invited 2 wee friends and their mum to pop round after school and have some cake. Cue some frantic tidying of the hovel that the kitchen had become in recent weeks – the Easter break didn’t help – and then I had a mad panic about whether I would manage to make 2 batches of cakes before 2.30 and have them nicely decorated. We need 2 batches as B is severely intolerant to both wheat and dairy (awkward boy!) and his wee sister M can’t tolerate soya. And besides, more is always better when dealing with cake.

In the event I just got everything finished and tidied up by home time. B and J, his classmate, went off together to build a new Lego set, and M settled in the living room with E and a giant doll’s house that is currently in residence in the middle of the rug. I got a lovely coffee and chat with their mum who is one of my closest friends. Sadly we couldn’t take the children to the park as I had originally hoped because our area is suffering some awful sand storms. The ground is tinder dry, even after some rain, and there was a danger of them getting very sore eyes if nothing else.

The cakes were a massive success, as you can see:-

Image

 

Things continued in a happy vein all the way up to and including bedtime, although I left the house and the bedtime routine to hubby as I was off to a choir practice. Yep, for my sins I belong to a small amateur choir who have days when we couldn’t hold a tune in a bucket but when it really counts have pulled off some terrific shows. One of the other members gave me a lift and this is when I could see the sand storms in full force. Being in the countryside and right next to the sea we get the full force of the wind coming across the bay. My friend had to drive very slowly as visibilty was poor, and there was a lot of sand starting to bank up in the road. I was told this morning that in the past the village got cut off after a particularly bad storm and now I could imagine how quickly it could happen.

When we came out of choir the winds had abated a bit, so I don’t think anyone will be digging their way out of the village tomorrow morning, but at least I will remember the date of the sand storm of 2013 if anyone ever asks!

Leave a Reply

Love Bytes

LGBTQ Book Reviews

UK GLBTQ Fiction Meet

Read it, Write it, Love it

girlwithautismblog's Blog

The greatest WordPress.com site in all the land!

Brad Vance Author

bradvanceauthor@gmail.com / www.facebook.com/BradVance.10

Pyjamas and Prosecco

Mum, Wife, Master Juggler..

It Must Be Mum

A Site for Resources and Reflections That May Help Those Navigating Aspects of the World of 'Special Education Needs'

Lane Hayes

Leaning Into Always

Glass Walls

My FTM Journey

Shoestring Cottage - Frugal Living

shoestringjane@outlook.com. Find me on Twitter and Instagram: @shoestringjane

THE LIFE OF TONT

The random musings of a soldier, father, and husband

Mary's Ménages Reviews & Promos

♂♀♂ Another way to Review Erotic Ménage Romances...

The New Normal

An extreme autism experience

Aspects of Aspergers

perspectives from the spectrum

The House of Elyot

Just another WordPress.com site

'Nathan Burgoine

mostly short queer fiction from a tall queer guy

Author Susan Mac Nicol

Adult content warning - Over 18's only please.

Queen of my Castle

A mother's tales of toddlers, tantrums and triumphs

