Lights out!

2 Nov

How many of you remember the hoo-haa we had over the change of street lamps in the village? Here’s a wee reminder if you haven’t read that post:

https://justgoodenoughmum.wordpress.com/2013/04/25/itll-be-all-light-on-the-night/

As the nights got progressively darker M has been struggling with sleep.  She has been a lot more restless in general, and she is waking during the night more often and taking forever to go back to sleep. I blame the light outside the window. Usually nothing bothers me at night unless I am awake because of one of the children (or my anxieties are out of control) but the blooming thing has been shining through the curtains like a lighthouse beam.

I went to the council offices.  I had noticed that a house along the road appeared to have some sort of paint on the part of the lamp facing the window and decided to explain about M and ask if they could do anything. The lady was very nice and said someone would be in touch.

I waited. And I waited some more. Then I decided I would call them at the end of the week and ask if anyone was going to contact me. But they beat me to it. I took M to bed on Wednesday and as I was drawing the curtains I noticed the lamp. Which now looks like this (please excuse rubbish photo but at night and with the salt-encrusted window it was the best I could do):

Image

 

I fought against mentioning this to M and thought I would see if there was any noticeable change in sleep patterns.

Well I am delighted to announce that I think there has been a distinct improvement!  I am convinced that her sleep has been deeper, and she is definitely not as restless. Of course, this could be a co-incidence but I think not. Her sensory issues are so varied and wide-ranging that having a bright penetrating light cutting through the darkness is very likely to have been disturbing her. I too have noticed that I feel more rested in the mornings which is indicative of better quality sleep.

No-one from the council has contacted me but I don’t think I’ll be ringing them to complain! 

One Response to “Lights out!”

  1. aviets November 3, 2013 at 2:24 am #

    Wonderful! Congratulations on that victory!
    -Amy at http://www.momgoeson.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

It Must Be Mum

A Site for Resources and Reflections That May Help Those Navigating Aspects of the World of 'Special Education Needs'

Lane Hayes

Leaning Into the Fall

Glass Walls

My FTM Journey

Shoestring Cottage - Frugal Living

shoestringjane@outlook.com. Find me on Twitter and Instagram: @shoestringjane

THE LIFE OF TONT

The random musings of a soldier, father, and husband

Mary's Ménages Reviews & Promos

♂♀♂ Another way to Review Erotic Ménage Romances...

The New Normal

An extreme autism experience

Aspects of Aspergers

perspectives from the spectrum

The House of Elyot

Just another WordPress.com site

'Nathan Burgoine

mostly short queer fiction from a tall queer guy

Author Susan Mac Nicol

Adult content warning - Over 18's only please.

Queen of my Castle

A mother's tales of toddlers, tantrums and triumphs

Gay Book Reviews - M/M Book Reviews

Reviews of M/M Themed Books

AutiWomanDifferentBox

This is about not thinking inside the box but thinking in a completely different box

Squeeze the Space Man's Taco

A journey into Cade's world

Jay Northcote

Contemporary LGBT Romance

