Curry night

12 Nov

Not sure what’s come over me as this has mostly tended to be a blog about autism in one way or another. But hey – my bio does say random musings so there you are. Deal with it or come back next time 😀

I was talking to the lovely @Mellowhuman the other day and I remembered how much I enjoyed mushroom bhaji. However, you can’t seem to get a decent one up here so he and I decided I would probably end up making my own.

I had the good fortune to pick up a box of organic mushrooms in the bargain counter so I figured I should google bhaji to see what else I required. Then life got in the way and I forgot about the mushrooms.

By good chance and the fridge being Arctic they were fine when I saw them today so I thought I would attempt some sort of homage to a mushroom bhaji. It worked so well I am telling you what I did – this is also a sneaky way of remembering what the heck I did before middle age robs me of my memory cells! 

One pack regular white mushrooms – peeled and quartered.

Splash of cooking oil into a frying pan,

One onion, finely chopped

4 large cloves of garlic, crushed

1 small green pepper, very finely chopped.

About 10 tiny cooked new potatoes, left in their skins and cut into quarters

Half a tin of chopped tomatoes

Dash each of chilli flakes, cumin, coriander, ginger and medium curry powder

Another wee dash of cumin (cos I love it!)

I kept the hob on a low heat the whole time so that nothing would stick or burn, and I vaguely followed (OK no I didn’t really) a few recipes I found after a quick Google. I added the potatoes as the mushrooms didn’t look very substantial when they were all in the pan, and the textures worked brilliantly together. When all the ingredients were in the pan I put the lid on to keep it from drying out – the half tin of tomatoes was the perfect amount for “enough” sauce.

Hubby and I (only one of my kids would eat this and she’s currently away at uni) ate this tonight with plain boiled rice, and though I hate to brag it was blooming gorgeous! 

Here’s the obligatory photo.

Imagerecipe

Leave a Reply

It Must Be Mum

A Site for Resources and Reflections That May Help Those Navigating Aspects of the World of 'Special Education Needs'

Lane Hayes

Leaning Into the Fall

Glass Walls

My FTM Journey

Shoestring Cottage - Frugal Living

shoestringjane@outlook.com. Find me on Twitter and Instagram: @shoestringjane

THE LIFE OF TONT

The random musings of a soldier, father, and husband

Mary's Ménages Reviews & Promos

♂♀♂ Another way to Review Erotic Ménage Romances...

The New Normal

An extreme autism experience

Aspects of Aspergers

perspectives from the spectrum

The House of Elyot

Just another WordPress.com site

'Nathan Burgoine

mostly short queer fiction from a tall queer guy

Author Susan Mac Nicol

Adult content warning - Over 18's only please.

Queen of my Castle

A mother's tales of toddlers, tantrums and triumphs

Gay Book Reviews - M/M Book Reviews

Reviews of M/M Themed Books

AutiWomanDifferentBox

This is about not thinking inside the box but thinking in a completely different box

Squeeze the Space Man's Taco

A journey into Cade's world

Jay Northcote

Contemporary LGBT Romance

