Christmas Crisis Looming

1 Dec

M has really struggled this week. She has been absolutely amazing every day before school, without any temper tantrums or meltdowns – the whole five days! By Friday I was beginning to think she had been replaced by an alien copy as it’s so unusual but obviously I was delighted, both for her and for the rest of us.

A note came home on Friday saying that due to the activities happening in the run up to the Christmas holidays that some times there would be some last minute changes to her timetable which they would try to avoid and they “hope that’s all right.” It puts me in a difficult position; no, really this is not OK, the whole point of a routine and a visual timetable is to stick to it, but, and this where I know it will be useful for Real Life (after school), unexpected change does and will happen. I am going to check that they have a “surprise” card and that M fully understands that a surprise might just be an unscheduled change rather than something exciting.

M does not have a speaking part in the school play. This was her choice and I fully support her with her choice. She has however, learned all the songs off by heart, and she has a sweet voice so it’s been (mostly) a pleasure listening to her practise.

We were having a morning cuddle today and a muffled wee voice from under the blanket informed me that she no longer wanted to be in the play at all – she wants to sit with me during the performances. I suggested that perhaps she could sit at the back of the hall so she is more hidden from the parents and visitors but an adamant shake of the head accompanied this idea. Her TA did say that she had been visibly uncomfortable during the last practice so I will speaking to them tomorrow as the last thing I want is for even more stress added to an already highly stressful time for her. There are only thirty children in the school but to me this keenly illustrates just how M struggles in any kind of crowded situation. Her sensory issues really come to the fore in cases like this, and of course without me there, her anxiety reliever, she gets to a point of shutdown or possibly meltdown.

So, we are well over three weeks away from the big day and already Christmas is becoming a dirty word for my wee girl. I am hoping we can all work together and turn it around for her. I want her childhood experiences to be magical, not full of fear and worry.

5 Responses to “Christmas Crisis Looming”

  1. mummyshambles December 1, 2013 at 2:42 pm #

    Similar situation here Karen…
    Christmas should be a magical time for children but for those with sensory issues, it’s too much to cope with. It’s only the 1st of December and I already want to kick the crap out of my pillow! 😦
    If you want me, I’ll be in a secure unit, weaving baskets. I’ll save you a seat if you like? 😉 x

    • ouremuk66 December 1, 2013 at 4:53 pm #

      I’m hoping it won’t come to that! But a saved seat might be a good plan in case it gets all too much 😀

  2. aviets December 1, 2013 at 3:10 pm #

    Christmas can be hard for so many people – so much stress and pressure and change. Hoping things smooth out for your beautiful girl. -Amy at http://www.momgoeson.wordpress.com

    • ouremuk66 December 1, 2013 at 4:47 pm #

      Thank you Amy. I think as long as I can make school understand that maybe she should carry on with normal school work during play practices, and sit with me, or out of the room, during the performances, that hopefully she will enjoy the rest of the term. Such a balancing act!

  3. alisonsye December 3, 2013 at 7:46 pm #

    I so feel for you. Really, really hope it all works out with the play 🙂

Leave a Reply

Pyjamas and Prosecco

Mum, Wife, Master Juggler..

It Must Be Mum

A Site for Resources and Reflections That May Help Those Navigating Aspects of the World of 'Special Education Needs'

Lane Hayes

A Kind of Home

Glass Walls

My FTM Journey

Shoestring Cottage - Frugal Living

shoestringjane@outlook.com. Find me on Twitter and Instagram: @shoestringjane

THE LIFE OF TONT

The random musings of a soldier, father, and husband

Mary's Ménages Reviews & Promos

♂♀♂ Another way to Review Erotic Ménage Romances...

The New Normal

An extreme autism experience

Aspects of Aspergers

perspectives from the spectrum

The House of Elyot

Just another WordPress.com site

'Nathan Burgoine

mostly short queer fiction from a tall queer guy

Author Susan Mac Nicol

Adult content warning - Over 18's only please.

Queen of my Castle

A mother's tales of toddlers, tantrums and triumphs

Gay Book Reviews - M/M Book Reviews

Reviews of M/M Themed Books

AutiWomanDifferentBox

This is about not thinking inside the box but thinking in a completely different box

Squeeze the Space Man's Taco

A journey into Cade's world

