Perspective and Plays

11 Dec

Luckily the week has improved for me after the disaster that was Monday.

Yesterday I forced myself to eat and to leave the house to do some chores, both of which helped my mood immensely. Today, although still very tired after a spectacularly late night (which I am not discussing as it concerns someone else)  I have been very busy, to the extent that I forgot to eat lunch, but the day has gone well. I have been helping someone out with a problem of enormous dimensions, and although I have done a very small part in helping, it has made me realise that things like running out of oil are by and large trivial matters – unless of course you live in Alaska or Siberia – so I have gained some much needed perspective on my misery. I’m not saying I could have acted any differently on Monday, but with some distance even the problems I found overwhelming 48 hours ago are finding their level on the “be annoyed but keep calm” shelf of life.

So, plays. Or rather, the primary school Christmas offering. Wee man did his part very well today and was wonderfully convincing as a grumpy ghost of Christmas past. His nerves nearly got the better of him this morning but a good breakfast settled his tummy and it was lovely to watch him.

M, who had been so terribly anxious about being involved at all, sat – well wriggled – on her chair and watched the whole thing with a smile on her face. She joined in with some of the songs and I could tell she knew almost all the words. She was absolutely delighted to find her name in the programme against the words scenery technician which is only fair as she made a vast amount of the scenery. I must stick my head into the school hall tomorrow morning and take a quick photo as I forgot. Her school have really listened about how she wasn’t coping with the whole concept of involvement but have let her work behind the scenes and given her appropriate credit for her work which has kept her included. Inclusion is only working if every child feels safe and valued and this has been the case here. 

Wee man would like me to go and watch it again tomorrow but I’m not sure that M will cope a second time. If I can find someone to look after her for an hour I might go as it really was very good and it would be nice to support B. 

Image

One Response to “Perspective and Plays”

  1. alisonsye December 12, 2013 at 5:14 am #

    So pleased about the play.

Leave a Reply

Love Bytes

LGBTQ Book Reviews

UK GLBTQ Fiction Meet

Read it, Write it, Love it

girlwithautismblog's Blog

The greatest WordPress.com site in all the land!

Brad Vance Author

bradvanceauthor@gmail.com / www.facebook.com/BradVance.10

Pyjamas and Prosecco

Mum, Wife, Master Juggler..

It Must Be Mum

A Site for Resources and Reflections That May Help Those Navigating Aspects of the World of 'Special Education Needs'

Lane Hayes

Leaning Into Always

Glass Walls

My FTM Journey

Shoestring Cottage - Frugal Living

shoestringjane@outlook.com. Find me on Twitter and Instagram: @shoestringjane

THE LIFE OF TONT

The random musings of a soldier, father, and husband

Mary's Ménages Reviews & Promos

♂♀♂ Another way to Review Erotic Ménage Romances...

The New Normal

An extreme autism experience

Aspects of Aspergers

perspectives from the spectrum

The House of Elyot

Just another WordPress.com site

'Nathan Burgoine

mostly short queer fiction from a tall queer guy

Author Susan Mac Nicol

Adult content warning - Over 18's only please.

Queen of my Castle

A mother's tales of toddlers, tantrums and triumphs

