TGIF

13 Dec

What a week.

Apart from my dubious mental health and pretty rubbish coping skills this week, poor M is feeling the strain of the approach of Christmas at school and it is spilling over into everything at home. As much as school are keeping her to a strict visual timetable there are just too many changes to the norm for her to be able to be anything but very unsettled.

I dropped the packed lunches off on the way to the shops this morning and saw M through the window of the gym hall – she was curled up on a bench at the side – and I noted that they were doing “social dancing” (Scottish country dancing). She had a wonderful time last week so I was surprised to see her so obviously miserable. I was let into school and was having a quick word with the head teacher when M hurtled out of the hall and into my arms like a missile on a mission. She was really upset and needed considerable cuddles before she would allow me to detach her (boy she does weigh a lot when clutching my neck in a stranglehold).

She was definitely still very uptight on the way home from school, and even the purchase of a Friday treat of Maltesers didn’t help much. She couldn’t settle at anything, and needed lots of encouragement to eat her pizza at teatime.

Finally I managed to get her into her pyjamas and then suddenly the dam burst and so many words came tumbling out of her, all so negative and heart-rending that i wanted to run away so I didn’t have to listen. I think when she is so confused and despairing it comes out as self-hatred and wanting to “not be here any more” as well as thinking everyone hates her. She kept repeating that she needed me to be in school with her all the time “otherwise I think you won’t come back for me mumma”. What the hell can I possibly say to that? I have never ever given her cause to think I won’t be there for her; if I have been out in town and concerned I might be even 2 minutes late for the school run I pull over and call the secretary so she can tell M I am on my way. I KNOW that my little girl’s life is ruled by her anxiety, and I do everything I can to prevent it worsening, and then she says this.

It breaks my heart. Am I doing the right thing in making her attend school? She does like social interaction, and can cope well most of the time now she has 1 to 1 support, but maybe I am barking up the wrong tree and I am actually really damaging her. Maybe every time I watch her go through those doors in the morning I am condemning her to almost 6 hours of unremitting emotional torment. I just don’t know. And she can’t tell me.

There are five more school days in this term. The last one has a Christmas service at the sister school in the next village, but M has told me that she can’t deal with being in a place with lots of people she doesn’t know, so I will be talking to school on Monday to arrange an alternative morning for her. I even asked what she would choose to do and she said “art” so I will see if there is a decoration she can bet set to making as there are bound to be lots of scraps of glittery paper around.

And then we will have two weeks off, no school, no dancing classes, no Sunday School, just us, all seven of us home for the holidays. With any luck I can persuade E, “uni sister” to drop her mainly nocturnal habits for a fortnight and give M some desperately needed sibling cuddles, and we shall tackle January when it arrives.

Thanks for reading.

4 Responses to “TGIF”

  1. aviets December 14, 2013 at 1:39 am #

    I really hope things get better once school is out. I wonder if it’s possible for her to just stay home this close to the holidays? It seems like a reasonable accomodation in this particular situation. Sigh. So hard to know the right thing to do. Best wishes – Amy

  2. AutismMumma December 14, 2013 at 7:46 am #

    Oh poor little M, everything is just spilling out, isn’t it. So so similar to D in terms of fears, anxieties and needing cuddles, lots of them. I agree with your other reply and if anxieties take over, keep her off. There’s never much school work happening in the last week, just lots of extremely excited children which may affect her. Good luck x

  3. mummyshambles December 14, 2013 at 9:34 am #

    Really feel for M, so much is going on with it being Christmas. I am experiencing this with S. Only he is a lot younger so it’s impossible for him to use words, so he lashes out. He also needs more cuddles…
    I feel for you as well, it’s so hard watching your child suffer. Just do what you feel is right for M. If that means keeping her at home, then keep her at home.
    Thinking of you both. xXx

  4. ouremuk66 December 14, 2013 at 1:09 pm #

    Thank you for replying, and I still don’t know what to do for the best after a night’s sleep. Thing is, will she see it as giving in to her if I let her stay home? She has full time 1 to 1 support so there is no reason why they can’t adapt and do something totally different with her most days if necessary. I think my best plan right now is to speak to school first thing on Monday and go through the week’s plans with them, seeing what we can change to make it all easier. E (big sister) also needs her down time and I have loads of appointments booked during school time this coming week so that I would have them out of the way before Christmas – I don’t really want to have to put them off and put myself behind too 😦

Leave a Reply

Tal Bauer Writes

Random musings from a Highland mother

Love Bytes

LGBTQ Book Reviews

UK GLBTQ Fiction Meet

Read it, Write it, Love it

girlwithautismblog's Blog

The greatest WordPress.com site in all the land!

Brad Vance Author

bradvanceauthor@gmail.com / www.facebook.com/BradVance.10

Pyjamas and Prosecco

Mum, Wife, Master Juggler..

It Must Be Mum

A Site for Resources and Reflections That May Help Those Navigating Aspects of the World of 'Special Education Needs'

Lane Hayes

Leaning Into Touch

Glass Walls

My FTM Journey

Shoestring Cottage - Frugal Living

shoestringjane@outlook.com. Find me on Twitter and Instagram: @shoestringjane

THE LIFE OF TONT

The random musings of a soldier, father, and husband

Mary's Ménages Reviews & Promos

♂♀♂ Another way to Review Erotic Ménage Romances...

The New Normal

An extreme autism experience

Aspects of Aspergers

perspectives from the spectrum

The House of Elyot

Just another WordPress.com site

'Nathan Burgoine

mostly short queer fiction from a tall queer guy

Author Susan Mac Nicol

Adult content warning - Over 18's only please.

