The Play Date

12 Feb

Bit of a good day today. Or in M’s case, an absolute belter!

Firstly I  went to an autism seminar run by the National Autistic Society which was a) very good and b) I was out the house meeting new people but knowing I would have something in common with them.

Secondly, and more importantly, M went on a play date after school.

She was initially the first person invited to a wee birthday celebration of a little girl at school. Then a few more were invited. OK I thought, hopefully it won’t be so busy that she can’t cope and anyway the mum would be sure to call me if M gets upset.

Then the wee girl got poorly. Nothing catching – an ear infection – but she’s not been in school. Ah well I think, party cancelled, maybe it will happen another day. Mostly I was feeling sorry for the birthday girl, no-one wants to be ill on their birthday, especially not when you’ve reached the giddy heights of 7.

But, this is the great part, M was still invited! Apparently, wee girl was well enough to have one friend over to help her celebrate, and she still chose M. I did ring the mum to check she wasn’t just being kind, but she was firm that all her four children were quite adamant that M should come. They all like her.

We agreed that the mum would pick her up from school and I would collect her two hours later.

I arrived to be greeted with a delighted body slam, and it was announced I was just in time for the blowing out of the birthday candles. M had barely been seen – she had spent 90% of her time playing dollies with her friend and there had been such an aura of peace with having an extra child in the house that the mum is insistent we need to repeat the experience. I don’t think you’ll find me arguing.

M did need some very quiet TV “down time” when she came home, but to be fair she needs that every day after school. She even ate her tea after a mammoth whine about how it was “disgusting” but again this is usual regardless of what I dish up.

And she didn’t have a meltdown when I left her with her siblings as I dashed out the door to take B to Cubs.

Dare I hope that she actually finally has a real friend? I think I do.

2 Responses to “The Play Date”

  1. stellabranch February 13, 2014 at 10:46 am #

    How lovely! So pleased for her…and you!

    • ouremuk66 February 13, 2014 at 9:54 pm #

      Thanks Stella, it was so lovely. Gives me a lot of hope for the future. x

Leave a Reply

Love Bytes

LGBTQ Book Reviews

UK GLBTQ Fiction Meet

Read it, Write it, Love it

girlwithautismblog's Blog

The greatest WordPress.com site in all the land!

Brad Vance Author

bradvanceauthor@gmail.com / www.facebook.com/BradVance.10

Pyjamas and Prosecco

Mum, Wife, Master Juggler..

It Must Be Mum

A Site for Resources and Reflections That May Help Those Navigating Aspects of the World of 'Special Education Needs'

Lane Hayes

Leaning Into Always

Glass Walls

My FTM Journey

Shoestring Cottage - Frugal Living

shoestringjane@outlook.com. Find me on Twitter and Instagram: @shoestringjane

THE LIFE OF TONT

The random musings of a soldier, father, and husband

Mary's Ménages Reviews & Promos

♂♀♂ Another way to Review Erotic Ménage Romances...

The New Normal

An extreme autism experience

Aspects of Aspergers

perspectives from the spectrum

The House of Elyot

Just another WordPress.com site

'Nathan Burgoine

mostly short queer fiction from a tall queer guy

Author Susan Mac Nicol

Adult content warning - Over 18's only please.

Queen of my Castle

A mother's tales of toddlers, tantrums and triumphs

