Spoke Too Soon

7 Apr

M had her first full on meltdown for ages today.

I took four of the kids over to visit an osteopath today. We’ve all been before, M more than the others as I was never able to leave her when I’ve been in the past. The house is familiar and welcoming, and Tracey (the osteopath) is one of my favourite people ever. M settled happily with snacks and a DVD on her sister’s laptop. 

When we had been put back into good shape we popped into the town for some lunch. The younger two had eaten a packed lunch as I knew we would be late eating, but I got them both an extra wee something. 

I knew that after over an hour in the car each way plus all the waiting around that a good run about in the fresh air was essential so we headed to the park where enormous fun was derived from a zip wire that has been installed since our last visit. M was fearless on this, and then got a great workout on almost everything else before we got back into the car. 

Part way home I remembered we would be passing a particular shop and I decided to run in and pick something up rather than have to make a special trip out of my way at another time. I was literally a few moments but M didn’t want me to go without her. She started to cry. And then to shout loudly.

Maybe I should have taken her with me, maybe not. I wasn’t up against any deadline. But once she started demanding I thought she was having a tantrum so I left her with the others. Turned out to be a mistake. I returned to find three of them desperately trying to hold onto a distraught girl who was screaming fit to burst and smashing her head repeatedly on the car. I finally got her calm and we set off again.

The journey home was punctuated with a lot of echolalia, a sure sign of M setting her world to rights, but luckily her meltdown was forgotten by her at least. Sometimes she seems totally oblivious to the mayhem; at others she can be exhausted and withdrawn for hours.

So, what was the trigger? Stopping for the shop? I don’t think so. I hadn’t specified we would head straight for home and it’s not unusual for me to kill two birds with one stone this way. Being cooped up for too long? Again I don’t think so. And she had a huge sensory workout which usually makes her feel calm. Maybe she had a panic attack about me going out of her sight. I will probably never know. 

I’ll tell you this much – all her siblings now want a pair of ear defenders!

4 Responses to “Spoke Too Soon”

  1. underbrella April 8, 2014 at 5:53 am #

    Ooh, it is do hard to second guess these things sometimes. Sounds like you have great understanding of her needs though.

    • ouremuk66 April 8, 2014 at 9:24 am #

      Thank you, I am usually pretty good. This one totally tripped me up though.

  2. mummyshambles April 8, 2014 at 8:08 am #

    I was expecting a post like this tbh…
    Damien has a thing about me leaving him. If we want to nip to the shop and we’re in the car, OH has to go in or we all have to – even if he’s left with his sister…he cries.
    Hold onto the good days, lovely. x

    • ouremuk66 April 8, 2014 at 9:28 am #

      M can go either way, that’s why I really thought it was temper and I won’t give in to that. And also I’m aware the kids think I spoil her. Maybe next time they’ll realise I “spoil” her for a reason. A meltdown in such a confined space brought it home to dd1 exactly how overwhelming it can be. A lesson for us all.

Leave a Reply

Tal Bauer Writes

Random musings from a Highland mother

Love Bytes

LGBTQ Book Reviews

UK GLBTQ Fiction Meet

Read it, Write it, Love it

girlwithautismblog's Blog

The greatest WordPress.com site in all the land!

Brad Vance Author

bradvanceauthor@gmail.com / www.facebook.com/BradVance.10

Pyjamas and Prosecco

Mum, Wife, Master Juggler..

It Must Be Mum

A Site for Resources and Reflections That May Help Those Navigating Aspects of the World of 'Special Education Needs'

Lane Hayes

Leaning Into a Wish

Glass Walls

My FTM Journey

Shoestring Cottage - Frugal Living

shoestringjane@outlook.com. Find me on Twitter and Instagram: @shoestringjane

THE LIFE OF TONT

The random musings of a soldier, father, and husband

Mary's Ménages Reviews & Promos

♂♀♂ Another way to Review Erotic Ménage Romances...

The New Normal

An extreme autism experience

Aspects of Aspergers

perspectives from the spectrum

The House of Elyot

Just another WordPress.com site

'Nathan Burgoine

mostly short queer fiction from a tall queer guy

Author Susan Mac Nicol

Adult content warning - Over 18's only please.

