A Sensory Drive

7 Oct

I thought long and hard before deciding to share the photo in this post about whether M would be upset if she saw it. The aim of my blog when I’m talking about autism and sensory issues is to share our experiences and anything that might help other people in the same situation. I decided M would like to think that other people with extreme sensory difficulties would be pleased if they got some ideas from what helps her, so I have justified this post that way.

Anyway, this all happened a week ago. It was Monday and the school had their sponsored walk to raise money for the Parent Council. My heart sinks when I hear the word “sponsor” as for people like us with no family nearby it basically means “put your hand in your pocket” but in this case I was more concerned that M would refuse to do the walk – she’s fine and happy to run about for hours on the beach, or to bounce for ages on the trampoline, but getting her actually walk anyway can be fraught with stress. The plan for the Junior class was to walk just over 2.5 miles to the local lighthouse, have a picnic there and a play on the rocks (how do you risk assess that eh?) and then walk back to school.

Luckily it was a clear sunny day and I left her at school looking cheerful about the prospect of a day outside.

As it was the last Monday in the month it was also her monthly additional needs drama club in town 40 miles away so I needed to pick her up half an hour earlier than school ends, something that is written into her plan. She came out smiling but I could tell she was weary.

It was hot in the car and she took off her jumper after some persuasion. As I have a classic Land Rover there are no air bags in the front and as a treat I let her ride up front with me. She is just as safe there strapped in and with her booster seat than in the back, in fact possibly more so as she is always more relaxed and sits in her seat instead of trying constantly to lean forward to reach me.

I had to open the windows and the sunroof to let some air in, but it does make it noisier. She was struggling and I passed her the ear defenders. Then she put her fleece back on. She was desperately unsettled and asked for her blanket. This is not her weighted blanket (which I have taken on longer journeys) but rather a length of pink fleece that I keep in the car for occasions like this.

Even thought it was far too warm she draped the fleece around her and tucked herself in a cocoon. Then she tried to tip her head back. I shifted the seat but then her neck wasn’t comfortable, so my fleece got rolled up as a pillow.

Finally I thought she was getting somewhere but she was still quite frantic under all the covers. I tentatively brought out my last weapon, the dreaded dummy (soother if you’re American). She took it gratefully and sank into a sort of trance for about thirty minutes.

WP_000841

I know there is a lot of controversy about the use of dummies, and especially in a child of M’s age. All I can say is that her dentist thinks this is preferable to teeth-grinding so sometimes at night when M is particularly stressed, one of these is produced and she calms enough to sleep. I don’t use them often, and I’ve never used one in broad daylight before but it definitely did the trick.

By the time we arrived at the theatre, she was calm and rested enough to face an hour of drama with no fuss or anxiety. I am still astounded that she preferred to be bundled up on a hot day in several layers of fleece (although fleece is her very favourite texture) but I could see that if I had tried to dissuade her from any of the calming measures she needed, the drive would probably have been very different, and not in a good way. She was physically drained but she was able to recharge happily and enjoy her class.

However, I am seriously thinking about buying her some sensory chews from a website. A dummy is not a great look for an eight year old!

5 Responses to “A Sensory Drive”

  1. peterinscotland October 7, 2014 at 12:39 pm #

    Hmmm… re rocks at lighthouse. A walk there is one of a couple of occasions as a parent when I’ve been aware of feeling I’ve come near to losing a young child (much younger than M now) through my own lack of keeping them under my close supervision. As a result somewhere I’d be reluctant to take a quantity of kids and would want to have a very clear plan. Rocks at 3 villages etc no problem, but at lighthouse they are slippery and end in deep water – if a kid keeps going and doesn’t listen when you call them back …..

    Then again at least they told you beforehand. As I think I’ve said before, the same school 40 years earlier took me and a handful of other kids (who weren’t going on the school trip) to the top of the lighthouse without any notification to the parents beforehand! 🙂

    • ouremuk66 October 7, 2014 at 2:31 pm #

      There were about 14 children so not too many thankfully, and presumably the staff were sensible – they came back with them all intact anyway 🙂

      You were lucky to go up the lighthouse – it’s strictly rationed now!

      • peterinscotland October 7, 2014 at 3:32 pm #

        Yes, I know. It was staffed back then, of course.

  2. mummyshambles October 7, 2014 at 1:46 pm #

    Sensory chews would be an idea to try but if it’s the soother or nothing.. I’d go with that. Her needs are more important than people’s judgement. Sod em.
    Damien was sucking both his thumbs the other day and it’s funny that you should mention teeth grinding because he grinds his something rotten. The sound!!! It goes right through me…
    D also doesn’t like walking. It used to be a nightmare but now I’ve got the car, things are better because at least he will walk around the shop for 10 minutes before whinging lol
    Let me know how you get on with the chewy doodahs. X

    • ouremuk66 October 7, 2014 at 2:33 pm #

      Not worried about adults judging, more other kids. M has days when she will walk and others when I just know the buggy is coming out. She gets antsy with crowds so in her buggy with the cover over she can pretend she’s in her own little world 🙂

Leave a Reply

Pyjamas and Prosecco

Mum, Wife, Master Juggler..

It Must Be Mum

A Site for Resources and Reflections That May Help Those Navigating Aspects of the World of 'Special Education Needs'

Lane Hayes

A Kind of Home

Glass Walls

My FTM Journey

Shoestring Cottage - Frugal Living

shoestringjane@outlook.com. Find me on Twitter and Instagram: @shoestringjane

THE LIFE OF TONT

The random musings of a soldier, father, and husband

Mary's Ménages Reviews & Promos

♂♀♂ Another way to Review Erotic Ménage Romances...

The New Normal

An extreme autism experience

Aspects of Aspergers

perspectives from the spectrum

The House of Elyot

Just another WordPress.com site

'Nathan Burgoine

mostly short queer fiction from a tall queer guy

Author Susan Mac Nicol

Adult content warning - Over 18's only please.

Queen of my Castle

A mother's tales of toddlers, tantrums and triumphs

Gay Book Reviews - M/M Book Reviews

Reviews of M/M Themed Books

AutiWomanDifferentBox

This is about not thinking inside the box but thinking in a completely different box

Squeeze the Space Man's Taco

A journey into Cade's world

