Anxiety Overload

9 Mar

Morning. I’d say “good” but that would be a lie.

M is in school, and she was, or at least she seemed fine when I left her in the care of her temporary TA at 9 o’clock. Whether the day goes well or not is too early to say.

We knew last week that the estimable Mrs T would not be in today, and plans were made to ensure M had a 1 to 1 that would be there for her today. She really can’t manage the school day without some emotional support; so the school arranged an unknown person to come, as all regular temp staff were unavailable. This appears to have been the proverbial straw that broke the camel’s back.

The weekend started with howling and crying on Friday evening as she discovered her timetable for Monday in her school bag, along with Tuesday’s one (Mrs T is super-organised). And then the entire weekend has been punctuated with sobbing fits, crying, wandering about attached to various comforters like her fleece blanket and her favourite pink cat, or alternatively screaming at her brother, or me, or her dad, in an attempt to control something in her confusing life, be it her toast or the socks she was wearing.

I can’t bear her behaviour when she’s like this, it’s desperately wearing on all of us, but my heart breaks for her – being so anxious about something that in all likelihood will be fine must be exhausting and frightening for her. It’s times like this that if anyone were brave enough to tell me that “autism is a gift not a curse” I might truly be tempted to punch them. Try telling my eight year old her autism is a gift! She was up more in the night than she was asleep, roaming the house with a belly ache and unable to settle, or even to process what was wrong. I knew, and yet I could offer nothing but reassurance in the form of cuddles and encouragement to curl up in the blankets and try to rest.

I know there are times when her breathtaking memory for details or her total recall over song lyrics is wonderful, but for now, today, autism can do one.

9 Responses to “Anxiety Overload”

  1. mummyshambles March 9, 2015 at 10:38 am #

    Oh mate 😦
    Totally understand how you are feeling. It’s incredibly stressful for all involved when our children are struggling. We’ve had a difficult weekend with S but we don’t know why he’s struggled. We haven’t been able to find the trigger but there will be one.
    Sending you all lots of calming vibes and hugs. You’re not alone, lovely. xXx

    • ouremuk66 March 9, 2015 at 10:52 am #

      Thank you lovely, I am just wrung out and yet I know she must be feeling so much worse 😦

      Poor S, hope you get to the heart of the matter before it escalates any further. I’ll make you a cuppa and we can take a breather together x x x

  2. aviets March 9, 2015 at 5:28 pm #

    I’m sorry you’re worn out today. I don’t have a child with autism, but I had two kids with very challenging behaviors and special needs in their own way, and I remember how utterly exhausted I could get after a day or night struggling with them. Thinking of you.

    • ouremuk66 March 9, 2015 at 5:59 pm #

      Thank you 🙂 She’s been OK since she came home but I have let her watch an entire DVD and have a drink of chocolate milk, so I’m not making it hard on myself. On advice from the OT we’ve upped the sensory input too, so hopefully she will rest well tonight, so that I can too .

      • aviets March 9, 2015 at 6:23 pm #

        I hope that helps!

  3. Looking for blue sky March 9, 2015 at 7:27 pm #

    No, autism isn’t a gift in this house either. Sending ((hugs)) for a better day tomorrow

    • ouremuk66 March 9, 2015 at 7:55 pm #

      Thank you. I’m seriously hoping so as pre-bedtime behaviour is shocking.

  4. Elle May 8, 2015 at 6:49 am #

    Reblogged this on DailyDDoSe™.

Leave a Reply

It Must Be Mum

A Site for Resources and Reflections That May Help Those Navigating Aspects of the World of 'Special Education Needs'

Lane Hayes

Leaning Into the Fall

Glass Walls

My FTM Journey

Shoestring Cottage - Frugal Living

shoestringjane@outlook.com. Find me on Twitter and Instagram: @shoestringjane

THE LIFE OF TONT

The random musings of a soldier, father, and husband

Mary's Ménages Reviews & Promos

♂♀♂ Another way to Review Erotic Ménage Romances...

The New Normal

An extreme autism experience

Aspects of Aspergers

perspectives from the spectrum

The House of Elyot

Just another WordPress.com site

'Nathan Burgoine

mostly short queer fiction from a tall queer guy

Author Susan Mac Nicol

Adult content warning - Over 18's only please.

Queen of my Castle

A mother's tales of toddlers, tantrums and triumphs

Gay Book Reviews - M/M Book Reviews

Reviews of M/M Themed Books

AutiWomanDifferentBox

This is about not thinking inside the box but thinking in a completely different box

Squeeze the Space Man's Taco

A journey into Cade's world

Jay Northcote

Contemporary LGBT Romance

